What is a pickle, if not a cucumber persevering

This was a recent tweet from David W. Peters and I thought it was hilarious (not because of the WandaVision reference, but because the idea of a patient cucumber really entertains me). Regardless, it inspired a loosely related topic for a post: pickle ball.

I was in Taiwan last year and during the time I was gone, pickle ball became a thing that everyone I know is doing. After a few weeks of nagging, we agreed to go play with my parents, who live just a few miles down the road.

They beat us, solidly. I couldn’t serve the ball in bounds (and the bounds are big). Grey hair flying, my folks trotted around the court, sending the ball consistently over the net. Meanwhile, I kept accidentally getting my fingers hit due to poor positioning. My boyfriend, more competitive than me by far, kept slamming the ball. Into the net. With such confidence.

Tonight we took advantage of the nicer weather and played some evening games. There were many pauses for work-related complaints, catching up on the vaccination adventures of grandparents, tentative suggestions for spring break plans. My mom, who is a confusing mixture of intensity and silliness, broke down laughing (about nothing) mid-point several times, which made her mess up, then laugh harder, then mess up again. My dad was pleased with himself for figuring out just how to lob the ball over my head – too high to reach by jumping and just barely in bounds for me to chase after.

There was a lot of celebratory shouting (whooping, really) after each game. Some spiteful comments and some strong language surfaced; people got riled up (at one point my mom threatened to take back the home cooked meal she had brought us). The last game was close – a tie that we just barely turned into a win (best two out of three). Neither parent threw their paddle or took away dinner, but as we made plans to play again this coming weekend, I knew that they were both thinking about revenge.

7 Comments

  1. LaReina says:

    I love this line: My mom, who is a confusing mixture of intensity and silliness… I feel the fun and the love of your parents in this piece. And I love the way you started it.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. carlambrown says:

    I love this! I imagined something different when I read the title (by which I was most amused), but the wittiness with which you told this story was equally if not more delightful.

    I think my favorite part was the spiteful comments, strong language and imminent threats. Hilarious! So glad to see you made such heartwarming moments while in a pickle (smile).

    ~Carla Michelle

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Ameliasb says:

    I’ve never played pickle ball. I had a first experience with Bocce last year and am looking forward to it again in my daughter’s back yard. Playing outdoor games with family is the best.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Brian Rozinsky says:

    Sounds like, now, you might *really* be in a pickle, but my sense is you’ll persevere 😁

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Terje says:

    Fascinating how the brain works in making connections, from a quote to a memory of playing. I first looked up what is a pickle ball, and then I enjoyed reading your slice, picturing all of you playing (you looked a lot like the people in the video I had watched earlier.)

    Liked by 1 person

  6. katlynhbennett says:

    This sounds like so much fun! I loved the descriptions of your parents on the other side of the court. A mixture of intensity and silliness, grey hair flying!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Your slice show so much playfulness and competitivenenss and fun! Are you playing at the new pickle ball courts at Lumber Run Rec Center? I drive by there and seen the busy courts. Next time, I’ll think of you playing with your parents!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Comment